Seven clubs, including former NSL outfit Brisbane City, have reached the Australia Cup round-of-32 for the first time.

The entire Australia Cup will be played before the start of the new A-League season, with the October 1 final to be the last match of Football Australia’s 2021-22 domestic calendar.

FA’s 2022-23 domestic calendar is set to be released this week, with its starting date to be October 7 – the first night of the upcoming A-League season.

The round-of-32 draw for the Australia Cup – formerly the FFA Cup – will take place on Wednesday night.

For the first time since the start of the Cup competition in 2014, the 32 teams – which consist of 10 A-League clubs and 22 member federation teams from throughout Australia – will be placed in the one pot for an open draw.

“It’s part of the Cup’s ongoing evolution,” a FA spokesman said.

This year’s Australia Cup winner will also qualify for continental competition by earning a spot in the 2023 AFC Cup.

Of the 12 A-League clubs, Western Sydney Wanderers and Perth Glory have failed to qualify for this year’s Australia’s Cup after being beaten in playoffs by Brisbane Roar and Newcastle Jets respectively.

This year’s round-of-32 debutants are NPL Queensland pair Brisbane City and Logan Lightning, Mindil Aces (NorZone Premier League, Northern Territory), Monaro Panthers (NPL ACT), NWS Spirit (NSW League One), Wollongong United (Illawarra Premier League, NSW) and the Modbury Jets (SA State League One).

The final spot in this year’s Cup round of 32 will be fought out on Saturday night when Cairns club Edge Hill United meets Mackay outfit Magpies Crusaders.

Australia Cup Round-of-32 teams: Melbourne City, Melbourne Victory, Western United, Adelaide United, Central Coast Mariners, Wellington Phoenix, Macarthur FC, Sydney FC, Newcastle Jets, Brisbane Roar, Monaro Panthers (ACT), Oakleigh Cannons (VIC), Green Gully (VIC), Heidelberg United (VIC), Avondale FC (VIC), Bentleigh Greens (VIC), Devonport Strikers (TAS), Mindil Aces FC (NT), Wollongong United (NSW), Sydney United FC (NSW), NWS Spirit FC (NSW), Bonnyrigg White Eagles (NSW), Brisbane City (QLD), Peninsula Power (QLD), Adelaide City FC (SA), Armadale SC (WA), Cockburn City (WA), Modbury Jets SC (SA), Broadmeadow Magic (NNSW), Newcastle Olympic (NNSW), Logan Lightning (QLD), and Edge Hill United or Magpies Crusaders United (QLD).

Read related topics:Brisbane

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *