Despite copping a Pat Cummins thunderbolt to the pads, South Africa’s Khaya Zondo remained baffled he was given out as he trudged off the field.

The Proteas were on 4-130 with almost 10 overs remaining on Day Four as the Aussies looked to snare some late wickets with the light fading at the SCG.

Watch Australia v South Africa. Every test match live and ad-break in play on Kayo. New to Kayo? Start your free trial now >

With the ball in hand on his 11th over of the day, Cummins steamed in and fired a full-length delivery at Zondo.

The South African got his bat out in front but failed to connect with the ball as it cannoned off his left peg.

Amid the vocal appeals from the Aussies, the umpire raised his finger and sent Zondo packing for 39.

Fox Cricket’s Isa Guha described Cummins’ delivery as “a beauty.”

“The perfect set-up,” Guha said.

“The short one and then the full one. Pat Cummins, what a star he is.”

However, Zondo elected to review the decision immediately.

As the third umpire deliberated, there was nothing on hot spot.

When Snicko came into play, there was a large spike which seemed in time with when the ball could have connected with Zondo’s bat.

Such was Zondo’s confidence that he would be saved by Snicko, he offered a fist bump to his partner at the crease, Kyle Verreynne.

But the third umpire then moved on to ball tracking to confirm, the Aussies began to celebrate while Zondo and Verreynne held their arms out in a display of confusion.

Speaking about his dismissal after stumps, Zondo believed the spike would keep him at the crease.

“There was a spike so, yeah,” he said.

“I don’t want to go too on about it, the decision’s made. It is what it is.”

Zondo had remained in total disbelief as he made his way back to the dressing room, a mindset that left commentator Mark Waugh somewhat confused.

“Not sure what Zondo’s looking around for,” Waugh said.

“He thinks he’s not out.

Whether he thought he hit it or not, it’s pitched in line, hitting in line, hitting the stumps.

“Looked out to me and it’s given out.

“Zondo was looking at his partner as he walked off.”

Speaking on SEN’s broadcast, Gerard Whateley could scarcely believe Zondo decided to review the initial call.

“This is so out that you should forfeit your wicket in the second innings,” Whateley said.

“It’s hit both pads!”

Originally published as Khaya Zondo told ‘forfeit your wicket in second innings’ over horror review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *