Perth will host the opening Test of the upcoming summer of cricket, with six nations scheduled to tour Australia next season.

Perth Stadium will host the opening Test of the upcoming home summer of cricket, with a record six nations scheduled to tour Australia in the 2022/23 season.

The West Australian capital has not hosted a Test match since December 2019 due to border restrictions and Covid-19 complications, but after nearly three years without a marquee five-day fixture, a two-Test series against the West Indies will get underway at Perth Stadium on Wednesday, November 30.

Stream Over 50 Sports Live & On-Demand with Kayo. New to Kayo? Try 14-Days Free Now >

Following a day-night pink-ball fixture at Adelaide Oval, Australia will play its first Test series against South Africa since the infamous ball-tempering saga of 2018, with matches at the Gabba, MCG and SCG over the Christmas break.

Although Brisbane traditionally hosts the opening Test of the home summer, the Perth and Adelaide Tests have been pushed earlier to avoid coinciding with the Big Bash League.

The three Tests against South Africa are each day fixtures, meaning there will be no clash with Big Bash games in the evening timeslot.

Meanwhile, Australia’s short-format stars are expected to miss a large chunk of the BBL with a white-ball series against South Africa tentatively scheduled for mid-January, meaning the likes of David Warner, Pat Cummins and Steve Smith will once again be absent from the domestic T20 tournament due to international commitments.

Despite efforts to create a gap in the home calendar for Australia’s high-profile cricketers to play Big Bash cricket, the heavily condensed schedule and the ICC’s Future Tour Programs commitments gave CA no alternative.

The Australian men’s team is preparing for a chaotic 12 months of cricket, highlighted by tours of Sri Lanka and India, a T20 World Cup and an away Ashes series.

After the upcoming multi-format tour of Sri Lanka, Australia’s short-format players will return home for six ODI fixtures against Zimbabwe and New Zealand in regional Queensland.

These matches will overlap with The Hundred in England, creating a dilemma for the likes of Glenn Maxwell, Adam Zampa and Marcus Stoinis, who have signed for franchises on high-paying contracts.

Attention will then quickly shift to the highly-anticipated T20 World Cup, with Australia scheduled to play warm-up matches against the West Indies and England before the tournament gets underway on Sunday, October 16.

Meanwhile, the Australian women’s side will face Pakistan in a white-ball series in January before travelling to South Africa for their T20 World Cup defence.

Despite last year’s successful Ashes Test in Canberra, Meg Lanning’s side will not play any four-day cricket this summer.

“After two years of being impacted by the pandemic, the 2022/23 home summer will be an especially busy one for the Australian men’s team as we honour our commitments to the ICC’s Future Tours Program,” CA chief executive Nick Hockley said in a statement.

This provides important opportunities to progress towards ICC World Test Championship Final qualification as well as build up for the ICC Cricket World Cup in India in 2023.

“Whilst the timing of the ODI series against South Africa is set out in the Future Tours Program, we had a recent request from Cricket South Africa to reconsider the dates of the three games, but have been unable to find alternative dates as yet.

“Many thanks again to our broadcasters, partners, touring teams and everyone involved in cricket across the country for ensuring we can host such an exciting summer of cricket and most of all we can’t wait to welcome back fans to our world-class venues to watch our world-leading players.”

Men’s ODI Series v Zimbabwe

August 28: Riverway Stadium, Townsville

August 31: Riverway Stadium, Townsville

September 3: Riverway Stadium, Townsville

Men’s ODI Series v New Zealand

September 6: Cazalys Stadium, Cairns (D/N)

September 8: Cazalys Stadium, Cairns (D/N)

September 11: Cazalys Stadium, Cairns (D/N)

Men’s T20I Series v West Indies

October 5: Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast

October 7: Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast

Men’s T20I Series v England

October 9: The Gabba, Brisbane

October 12: Manuka Oval, Canberra

October 14: Manuka Oval, Canberra

Men’s ICC T20 World Cup

October 16 – November 13

Men’s ODI Series v England

November 17: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (D/N)

November 19: SCG, Sydney (D/N)

November 22: MCG, Melbourne (D/N)

Men’s Test Series v West Indies

November 30 – December 4: Perth Stadium, Perth

December 8 – December 12: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (D/N)

Men’s Test Series v South Africa

December 17 – December 21: The Gabba, Brisbane

December 26 – December 30: MCG, Melbourne

January 4 – January 8: SCG, Sydney

Men’s ODI Series v South Africa*

*Dates subject to confirmation

January 12: Blundstone Arena, Hobart

January 14: SCG, Sydney

January 17: Perth Stadium, Perth

Women’s ODI Series v Pakistan

January 16: Allan Border Field, Brisbane

January 18: Allan Border Field, Brisbane

January 21: North Sydney Oval, Sydney

Women’s T20I Series v Pakistan

January 24: North Sydney Oval, Sydney

January 27: Manuka Oval, Canberra

January 29: Manuka Oval, Canberra

Read related topics:Perth

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.