John Millman has clashed with a chair umpire following a contentious decision during his Round of 16 match at the Adelaide International 2. 

The Australian was down 5-3 in the opening set against Alejandro Davidovich Fokina, with his opponent sitting on three set points.

In the next point, Millman played a forehand which appeared to land out on the left-hand sideline.

Davidovich Fokina then attempted to hit a powerful winner – which ultimately travelled over the baseline – before opting to challenge Millman’s previous shot.

MORE: Kyrgios vs. Djokovic tickets sell out in minutes

The umpire accepted the challenge, which determined Millman’s shot to be out and consequently meant Davidovich Fokina won the set.

Millman, 33, was less than impressed with the timing of the challenge – which saw Davidovich Fokina only challenge the call after his attempted winner – and immediately questioned the umpire.

Typically players are required to signal for a challenge immediately after a call, with the umpire able to dismiss the challenge if it is made too late.

“He takes a full swing … and then says ‘challenge’. You can’t do that,” Millman told the umpire.

The umpire’s initial response was not audible, but the world No. 147 remained adamant in his stance.

“That’s bad. That’s not good,” he added.

“You don’t agree that, in hindsight, that shouldn’t have been allowed?

“So I can get an extra shot and go as hard as I want? And then I can just challenge?”

Watch the full incident unfold below:

Davidovich Fokina eventually went on to win the match 6-3 6-3, bringing Millman’s exciting run in Adelaide to an end.

The Australian veteran progressed through two rounds of qualifiers before defeating world No. 38 Albert Ramos-Vinolas in the opening round of the main draw. 

Millman will be in action at Melbourne Park next week, awarded a wildcard into the Australian Open men’s singles draw.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *