The Australia Cup round-of-32 will include three all-A-League affairs, with a battle between Melbourne Victory and Western United.

Melbourne Victory will start the defence of their Australia Cup crown with a meeting against A-League champions Western United.

The blockbuster clash is one of three all-A-League matches in this year’s Cup round-of-32, with Sydney FC to host Central Coast Mariners, and Adelaide United to travel to Newcastle to meet the Jets.

Melbourne City will also head to the Hunter region to meet NPL Northern NSW outfit Newcastle Olympic.

Brisbane Roar, Macarthur FC and Wellington Phoenix are also on the road in the round-of-32.

The Roar travel to Victoria to meet Heidelberg United, the Phoenix head to Tasmania to meet the Devonport City Strikers, while Macarthur venture to Queensland to meet either Edge Hill (Cairns) or Magpies Crusaders (Mackay), who play each other this weekend for the final spot in the round-of-32.

The 16 round-of-32 matches take place next month, with subsequent rounds to be played in August and September ahead of the final on October 1.

The winner of this year’s Cup will not only secure silverware but also earn the chance to play continental football in next year’s AFC Cup.

Australia Cup Round of 32 draw: Bentleigh Greens v Broadmeadow Magic, Sydney FC v Central Coast Mariners, Peninsula Power v NWS Spirit FC, Brisbane City v Cockburn City SC, Adelaide City v Logan Lightning, Newcastle Jets v Adelaide United, Wollongong United v Green Gully, Bonnyrigg White Eagles v Oakleigh Cannons, Armadale v Modbury Jets, Devonport City Strikers v Wellington Phoenix, Edge Hill or Magpies Crusaders v Macarthur FC, Mindil Aces v Avondale, Heidelberg United v Brisbane Roar, Newcastle Olympic v Melbourne City, Sydney United v Monaro Panthers, Western United v Melbourne Victory.

Read related topics:Melbourne

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *